Independent Online

Friday, May 27, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

Summerstrand take the glory at 2021 DHL Lifesaving National Club Champions

Durban Surf's Amica de Jager excelled in the seniors surf and pool events. Picture: Michael Sheenan

Durban Surf's Amica de Jager excelled in the seniors surf and pool events. Picture: Michael Sheenan

Published Oct 10, 2021


Gqeberha - Home team Summerstrand are the overall 2021 DHL Lifesaving National Club Champions – and the club has their incredible nippers to thank for the victory.

The nippers crushed the opposition in the surf and pool, scoring more than double the next best in totaling 710 points in the surf and 611 in the pool in the most comprehensive and complete collective display.

Story continues below Advertisement

The Summerstrand seniors managed just 85 points in the surf and didn’t register a point in the pool, while the Summerstand juniors got 93 points in the pool and 268 in the surf.

The points of the Masters, who completed the championship’s schedule on the final day, do not count towards the overall title, but Summerstrand’s veterans were as imposing in the pool as their record-breaking nippers were earlier in the week.

More than 1000 of the country’s lifesaving specialists competed in the surf and sand at Kings Beach and the pool at Newton Park.

Clifton Lifesaving Club won the senior and junior surf championship and Tuks, with South African national champion Johan Lourens, Robbie le Roux and Andries Mouton to the fore, dominated the pool seniors, while Tuks’ Kendra du Toit (17-18 year-olds) and Tovre van Zyl in the female open division were the pick of the pool winners. Durban Surf’s Kristin Bellinghan, Sasha Corris and Amica de Jager also had a strong week.

Clifton’s 17 year-old teenage duo of Naor Lombard and Holly Cleworth were excellent in the surf championships.

The nationals usually attract close to 2000 athletes, but with uncertainty over Covid and the cancellation of the 2020 event because of Covid, several prominent names from especially the KZN clubs did not participate.

Story continues below Advertisement

The absence of these KZN stars impacted on the overall club performance, with the KZN clubs of Durban Surf, Marine and Umhlanga finishing outside the top three. Umhlanga placed fifth with Durban Surf in ninth place.

Marine’s men and women were also tops in the Wimpy Surf Boats championship, which featured nine races over three gruelling successive days.

Fish Hoek was another of the traditional powerhouses that suffered because of the absence of many regulars but still finished in third overall place.

Story continues below Advertisement

Individually, Durban Surf’s athletes produced some of the biggest wins, with the club’s Wade Krieger sharing the senior surf athlete of the tournament with Kings Beach’s Keegan Cooke. Amica de Jager won the senior female surf athlete of the championship award.

De Jager is among a select group who will represent South Africa at the Africa Games in Egypt from 1st – 5th December.

Durban Surf’s Matthew Allen won the boys u15 division, with three golds and a silver, and club teammate Dayna Deeble won the girls u15 division.

Story continues below Advertisement
Action from the pool championship. Picture: Michael Sheenan

Umhlanga’s Samuel Norton was sensational in winning gold in all four of his events to claim the overall u19 title and Umhlanga’s Sasha Corris, a Team South Africa regular, also enjoyed a strong championship.

On Saturday’s final day, Summerstrand’s Tracy Gous did as she always does at the DHL Lifesaving South Africa Championships – she won gold in the Masters.

Gous, competing in the 40-44 years old section, showed nothing had changed in between wins in 2019 and 2021, with last year’s National Championships cancelled because of Covid.

DHL Lifesaving South Africa National Championships

Overall (senior, junior and nipper combined) club winners in surf and pool

1. Summerstrand

2. Clifton

3. Fish Hoek

4. Kings Beach

5. Umhlanga Rocks

6. Llandudno

7. Tuks

8. Big Bay

9 Durban Surf

10. Milnerton

* Team South Africa 2021 ILS Africa Championships will take place from December 1-5 in Alexandria, Egypt.


Amica de Jager, Celina Isaacs, Chelsey Cooke, Ellen Kleinsmidt, Nicolette Challenor, Sasha-Lee Corris, Tatum Botha, Holly Cleworth, Emma Slack, Chevan Clarke, Liam Calvert, Nic Kingston, Brayden Bergset, Johan Lourens, LenDouglas Mac Kay, Cullen Biddulph, Travis Misdorp, Keegan Cooke.

Related Topics: